Makerly Project: Half Moon Pencil Skirt

One of the reasons I love going home to visit my parents is the high quality sewing time I somehow always manage to fit in. This time around, I decided to make a comfy wool pencil skirt with fabric from my mom’s personal stash. My mother has the most delightful collection of fabrics to choose from, so it’s kind of hard not to get excited about starting a project when you see the array of brightly colored cottons, wools and linens neatly stacked in her sewing room. As her daughter, I suppose I have some raiding privileges….

pencil_skirt_yellow

This pencil skirt was super easy to put together- I actually didn’t even use a pattern. A pencil skirt is one of the easiest pieces of clothing you can make, since this type of skirt contains fairly straight lines. I used a 1 1/2″ elastic band to ensure that the skirt fit snugly around my waist. At the last minute, I thought it would be interesting to make the skirt a little asymmetrical, so I hand sewed a small pocket on the right side of the skirt. The pocket is shaped like a half moon, hence the name of the skirt!

pencil_skirt_pocket

Close-up of the half moon pocket

I want to call some attention to the technology I used to make my skirt- my mother’s Kenmore 10 sewing machine. This machine is over 30 years old and is still going strong. It’s required relatively little maintenance over the years and has actually outlasted another machine that my mom had purchased several years ago. In an era where most computers last about five years and GPS systems last two years, this machine seems to have escaped the built in technological obsolescence which is a part of so many of our appliances and technologies today. Last year I watched an interesting documentary, “Pyramids of Waste” about planned technological obsolescence, which profiled how various industries have engineered products which intentionally have a shorter life span in order to ensure that consumers buy new versions of the products. From light bulbs and ink jet printers to computers and panty hose, companies have sought to decrease product quality for the sake of increasing sales and promoting consumerism. In this sense engineering is not only used to improve products, but in some cases can be used to create sub-par technological artifacts, the consequences of which are broad (social, economic, environmental, legal, etc.).

pencil_skirt_pattern

Pencil skirt cut out and Kenmore 10 sewing machine 

pencil_skirt_machine

Kenmore 10 sewing machine

pencil_skirt_sewing

Sewing the skirt

I’m pretty satisfied with the way the skirt turned out- It only took a couple hours to make. There’s something really rewarding about wearing your own creation. I think it will make a nice addition to my wardrobe!

pencil_skirt_worn

Ready to wear!

3 responses to “Makerly Project: Half Moon Pencil Skirt

  1. Great work, Steph! Awesome that you made this without a pattern, that’s talent. 🙂 And the elastic waistband is genius. Can’t wait to see your other creations!!

    • P.S. I’m a HUGE fan of the non-computerized sewing machines. I love the simplicity and reliability of Janome. 🙂

  2. Thanks for your comments, Amanda! I haven’t tried using a Janome yet, but I hear Janome makes high quality machines.

Leave a Reply

